Today is my best day!

Today is my best day

Today I saw on a shirt these words and thought to myself what a great slogan. No matter what type of day you are having “Today is my best day” and make it that. These past few years have turned into a slump, after losing my job and forced to drop out of a course I wanted to take due to financial need I have been just going from one job to another looking for some way to make ends meet and the feeling like your running in a huge mud puddle and sinking. I believe that we have influences all around us in large or small ways, the milk spilled so now you are late for work does that mean you have to behave like a B to everyone? No not at all as you are just spreading your negative influence so when I see something that is a positive influence I try to embrace it into my day and week. We all have an abundant amount of negative influences and how we handle them is what sets us apart from others, are we better than those negative influences, I’m trying to be.  Today is my best day, if I take a step back and ponder this how profound it can be of a statement. I have had so few “best days” that I think I need to re-think how I look at myself. For example, just this week I was let go from work again, more lay-offs, having to look again for work is getting to be a full time job, really I should get paid for this. As well we had to use the food bank, my car needs new tires, and literally I can see the wires in the tires that is how bald they are. I can’t take a bus because there is no bus where I live, how stupid is that, the town has no bus going to the city that is only a 15 min drive, so one must have a car. My daughter is invited to a wedding and we have nothing to give or even a dress for her to wear. I have not been able to buy cloths in well over three years and am down to two pants and 4 shirts. I now have every sock with holes that have been re-sewn so many times that the sock is see through with only strands of thread holding together. I have sewed my cloths so many times that the patches and torn material is so thin no patch or thread is going to save it, my jeans are practically see through and now a single mom looking for work again. The job industry here is only hiring part timers because then they don’t have to offer benefits and they can offer a lower rate of pay as well. So when the “today is my best day” filled my head I have to admit first glance I thought “ya right!” but then I stopped stressing out and decided yes, today is my best day. I have a room over my families head to protect us from the cold wind and rain. I have food, small amount and not very healthy but it is what will keep us alive, we can eat. We do have cloths even though they are the holiest things I have ever owned but we are clothed. We have each other and that is good enough, I think I must stop focusing on the horizon and start learning to enjoy the walk through life.  Just like this quote:

If you’re going through hell, keep going. Winston Churchill

So when I am down I just need to think of it as I am just passing through, not stopping or dwelling on anything just passing through. So today is my best day and so will tomorrow?

I want to pass on the inspiration, I do not know who make the shirt, if it is a famous quote or what it is but I want to pass on the inspiration to you to make today and every day your best day by looking at what you have and not what you do not have and be grateful for it.

Leave a Reply

